The APPG on Universal Credit is a cross-party group, which was established in order for Members of Parliament of all parties to be able to come together to discuss the experiences of their own constituents, to receive advice and support from various agencies, to share best practice at  supporting constituents and monitor this critical policy as it is rolled out.

The APPG accepts the core aims of Universal Credit (UC) in simplifying the benefits system and making it easier for people to move into work. The reality of UC, however, does not live up to these good intentions. We are seriously concerned that the design of UC does not sufficiently take into consideration the specific needs of the poorest working age people in the UK, and that in its current form, UC does not work in their best interest.

APPG Officers 2018/19

Ruth George MP (Chair)
Debbie Abrahams MP
Peter Aldous MP
Dr Lisa Cameron MP
Hugh Gaffney MP
Lord Kerslake
Baroness Lister of Burtersett
Stephen Lloyd MP
Jim Shannon MP
Alison Thewliss MP

Supportive Parliamentarians

Baroness Meacher
Lord Ramsbotham
Rt Hon Sir Vince Cable MP