Annual General Meeting for the APPG on Universal Credit

Report from the meeting of the 2nd March 2022


The group heard about the sessions that have taken place over the year from Debbie Abrahams MP, Chair of the APPG on Universal Credit. These included:

  • Joint meeting with the APPG on Ending the Need for Food Banks
  • Domestic abuse
  • Claimants under 25s
  • the £20 cut and long covid
  • Access
  • Migration
  • Adequacy of Universal Credit

The APPG elected the following Parliamentarians as Officers:

  • Debbie Abrahams MP – Labour – Chair & Registered Contact
  • The Lord Bishop of Durham – Cross Bench
  • Peter Aldous MP – Conservative
  • Anne McLaughlin MP – SNP
  • Baroness Lister of Burtersett – Labour

The following Parliamentarians expressed a desire to be members:

  • Wendy Chamberlain MP
  • Stephen Timms MP
  • Kate Hollern MP
  • Valerie Vaz MP
  • Yvonne Fovargue MP
  • Tan Dhesi MP
  • Marsha de Cordova MP
  • Gerald Jones MP
  • Tony Lloyd MP
  • Marrie Rimmer MP
  • Karen Buck MP
  • Kirsten Oswald MP
  • Hywel Williams MP
  • Lord Young of Norwood Green

The following Parliamentarians sent their apologies, but expressed a desire to be members:

  • Stephen Timms

The group has not received over £12,500 from outside Parliament, in money or in kind, in its reporting year and so does not need to submit an income and expenditure statement.